Principle vs. Practice: Sex and Marriage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Principle vs. Practice: Sex and Marriage

Given how controversial the subject of "Saving Sex for Marriage" is, and who the loudest proponents are, I'm probably going to set off a firestorm. Here goes anyway...

I don't disagree with principle of saving sex for marriage. It has a number of pros (fewer children out of wedlock and very low risk of sexually transmitted diseases just to name two) and very few cons. And in the days (not as long ago as one thinks) when the common age of marriage was between 14 and 19, this really wasn't much of a wait anyway.

Times have changed, and while I'm not a promoter of promiscuity (far from), I wonder how realistic such an expection is in this day and age. It now common to postpone marriage 'til after one graduates from college and is settled into a career. That means the mid-20's at the earliest and the 30's are not out of the question. That could put 10-15 years from the onset of adolescence to day of marriage. That's a long time.

Basically, for those who promote the "Sex 'til Marriage" view, one might want to consider how to educate adolescents on how to deal with their body's wants and needs. And being hush-hush about it, as too many of these groups often are, is not the best way to go.

Doug H.

Given how controversial the subject of "Saving Sex for Marriage" is, and who the loudest proponents are, I'm probably going to set off a firestorm. Here goes anyway...

I don't disagree with principle of saving sex for marriage. It has a number of pros (fewer children out of wedlock and very low risk of sexually transmitted diseases just to name two) and very few cons. And in the days (not as long ago as one thinks) when the common age of marriage was between 14 and 19, this really wasn't much of a wait anyway.