Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Microsoft Office 2007.

Anyone has it?

If so, how do you like it and have you notice any big time bugs?

I like the fact that Excel has increased the number of rows and columns it has and am womdering if it's worthwhile getting it.

If you do any bookkeeping, mathematics or do some heavy duty columnar type work that is cumbersome in MS Word, you can use Excel. It was the major tool for when I worked as an engineer. I've set up whole plant simulations on it and a complete bookkeeping system for a small business that my wife ran in Baton Rouge.

I now have the bookkeeping of our housing association on it. My wife keeps a monthly/yearly ledger on it that I set up for her. Before that, she'd do a double entry ledger completely by hand.

It'll do some fairly heavy duty database stuff, and I find it FAR more user friendly than the really heavy duty ones like Access.

I set up the church database on it. It's far easier to go to a directory from Excel than from Word. You can lay out where you want all the entries to appear, etc. and end up with an MS Word directory. It's far easier to make the corrections, etc. in Excel though. You can easily search for things and sort things in Excel.

Comment

Actually, we were kind of hoping you would get it and find the bugs for us...

Rich

Comment

quote:
        Originally posted by RalphVa:
        It'll do some fairly heavy duty database stuff, and I find it FAR more user friendly than the really heavy duty ones like Access.

I consider that comment kind of funny. Access is a very light duty database. That it why it is part of MS Office.

A better database is MS Visual FoxPro and even better is MS SQL.

Comment

I work in IT and I've asked around with other IT Pros. The general consensus is "don't upgrade to Office 2007 unless you find that 2007 has a particular feature that you need".