Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• General attitudes

Ren asked in another topic:

"We're in a less kind world, where everything is contentious. So, what happened?"

Ren, I can only speak for the US, but we have found ourselves in a victim society. Dan Quayle was right when he said that there were too many lawyers in this country. It seems that we want to complain too much right now and try to go to the government to sterilize our society so we don't have to deal with anything bad.

And actually, taking a look at the whole of society, we have become a more kind society in how we treat others. But now, the media focuses on the bad much more prominently than the good. Bad news makes for better ratings. And because of that, a kind of paranoia has slithered into our society. Males are sex-fiends who rape women and children, nurisng homes are terrible places for your parents, etc. I myself, have had to put up with such prejudiceness in my work as I am a preschool teacher. In fact, when I was in college student teaching in a kindergarten class, I was told that I had to do my student teaching somewhere else as one of the parents (in a class of about 25) had a problem with her daughter being in the same class with me.

What needs to happen is those who want to find trouble in the smallest things need to just learn to get over it. Political Correctness needs to go away. We need to realize that going to the government to solve all of our minor squabbles only makes things worse.

Bob S.

Ren asked in another topic:

"We're in a less kind world, where everything is contentious. So, what happened?"

Ren, I can only speak for the US, but we have found ourselves in a victim society. Dan Quayle was right when he said that there were too many lawyers in this country. It seems that we want to complain too much right now and try to go to the government to sterilize our society so we don't have to deal with anything bad.