Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Broadcast Decency Enforcement Act: Anyone care about the latest resurrection?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Broadcast Decency Enforcement Act: Anyone care about the latest resurrection?

More here:
    http://today.reuters.com/news/newsArticle.aspx?type=ind...-Industry+NewsNews-3

More here:
    http://today.reuters.com/news/newsArticle.aspx?type=ind...-Industry+NewsNews-3

Comment

not me..iv'e got sirius.....

Comment

The Broadcast Decency Enforcement Act screams one word to me: censorship. As a filmmaker, I think that this drastically limits what you can do on the air - and that limits creativity.

I believe that we Americans need to relax, take a deep breath, and realize that what the FCC and Congress are doing punishes those of us with original ideas.

Comment

quote:
          Originally posted by sw1sweendog:
          not me..iv'e got sirius.....

The BDEA is only the attempted next step; the religious right aims to censor everything including satellite radio.

Comment

The bill does not define what is indecent. Could be interesting how it is interpreted. Will simple nudity always be indecent?

Comment

quote:
              Originally posted by Michjoe:
              The bill does not define what is indecent. Could be interesting how it is interpreted. Will simple nudity always be indecent?

Simple nudity will never be indecent -- in the real world. In the world of the religious right and "decency" legislation, simple nudity will always be indecent.

Comment

I am supportive of this,to a point.

In terms of language, there has been a trend recently where obscene words (and variations thereof) have become common on television.
                This suggests to viewers that this is fine to use in everyday conversation. Its not.